You Are Reading


Peterson Rakes In Postseason Awards

Carter "The Power" Bryant Thursday, December 9, 2010 , , , , , , ,
PP7 carried the LSU offense to begin the year on ST
Photo via
LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson has swag, a lucrative professional football future and some serious speed. Peterson was phenominal for the Bayou Bengals this season.

But he now has some serious hardware to show for it.

Peterson was named the SEC Defensive and SEC Special Teams Player of the Year earlier this week. Tonight, he won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's best defensive back and also won the Chuck Bednarik Award for the nations best defensive player at the College Football Awards on ESPN.

PP7 was the first defensive back to win the award since Charles Woodson won it in 1997. 

Peterson, who never fails to come up with a great quote, said in his acceptance speech that he knew a Tiger had to win in it. Auburn's Nick Fairley and Clemson's Da'Quan Bowers were the other nominees, both teams playing on teams who's team mascot is a Tiger.

LSU head coach Les Miles was in Orlando to support Peterson at the awards show. Auburn's Cameron Newton also won multiple awards tonight, including the Maxwell Award for the nation's best all-around player.

Hide ya kids, Hide ya wife people, PP7 lived up to his preseason hype.


Post a Comment

Copyright 2010 Hard Knock Tigers